Mission Statement

The Spokane Pharmacy Association was established in 1921 and is a voluntary association of pharmacists, student pharmacists, and pharmacy technicians. SPA’s purposes are to:

  • Assure the viability of the profession of Pharmacy by supporting the education of pharmacists, pharmacy technicians, and students;
  • Promote the competency of practitioners and maximize the profession’s contribution to patient care; and
  • Increase an awareness of these contributions and capabilities and their value not only to the profession, but also to other health-care practitioners and, in particular, the patient.

Leadership Roster

Jennifer Czapinski, President
Steve Webbenhurst, Executive Vice President
Shurrie Morris, President-elect
John Griffith, Treasurer | treasurer@spokanepharmacy.org

Board of Managers
Julie Akers, WSU / WSPA Liaison
Eleanor Doss, DOH/PQAC Liaison
Shurrie Morris, CE Chair | ce-info@spokanepharmacy.org
Natasha Heimbigner, Past-CE Chair
Cheyenne Newsome, CE Chair-elect
Anna Mucker, Annual Meeting Co-chair
Amanda Goyke, Annual Meeting Co-chair
April Parker, Technician Representative
Kendra Demaris Hall, Immediate Past President
Sue Kellogg, Special Counsel

Secretary/Student Representatives
Pahulpreet Handa
Anastasia Corolenco

Board Member Biographies

Email the Board

Past Presidents

Kendra Demaris Hall, 2017
Landa Vierra, 2016
Chris Greer, 2015
Manpreet Chahal, 2014
Steven Webbenhurst, 2013
Heather McNamee, 2012
Michael Brandt, 2010, 2011
Brenda Bray, 2008, 2009

History of Spokane Pharmacy Association

Initially, the pharmacy association in Spokane began as an association for pharmacy owners only. The first set of by-laws and the constitution were first approved in 1922. One of the records from the early 1950’s listed the membership as consisting of about 100 independent pharmacies. There were no members from “chain” stores, hospitals or other areas. Most of those independent pharmacies have since closed. Over time, staff pharmacists were included more, were allowed to become members and hold office and the topics became more oriented to medication therapy. In the 60’s, when Medicare passed, and federal funds were allocated to health care, those funds came with more federal control. The national associations began to develop improved quality control and standards of practice, and the concept of regular inspections soon followed. In the 80’s-90’s, Spokane had both a hospital based association and a retail focused association, but the two associations merged once again in the late 1990’s.

Over time, the SPA has changed from a group of independent pharmacy owners with a business focus into a dynamic organization of pharmacists, technicians and students who serve patients in all areas of Spokane County and eastern Washington. Pharmacy practice in Spokane and the nation has undergone significant changes in the last century, and this trend is continuing into the new century.

The Spokane Pharmacy Association welcomes all pharmacy professionals as members. Please click on the tabs for membership, events and education to learn more. There is contact information for each of the officers and board members, and they welcome contact from anyone with questions or suggestions.