Summer 2016 President’s Message


As the Olympics end, I noticed that there are some parallels to having a professional career:

  • Integrity matters, even in the smallest of details. Enough said.
  • Personal excellence is something that requires daily effort in order to grow and to show small but continuous improvement.
  • Recognizing achievements of team members and being an advocate for your team can make a difference, both in the moment and in the long term.

The first two are givens for pharmacy professionals, but we could do better at the third one. I’m sure you each thank your co-workers when they provide exceptional service, do innovative problem-solving, or lend their expertise to make a situation better for someone, but have you considered nominating a co-worker for one of SPA’s annual awards? Sure, it won’t get them a gold medal or a spot on a sports commercial, but it does provide an opportunity to let them know that their hard work is noticed. Remember that anyone can nominate in any category – pharmacist, technician, student preceptor, and across all practice sectors. We’ll be asking soon for nominations for our annual awards, so please consider nominating at least one person as a thank you for their efforts. (more…)


A New Long Acting Injectable Treatment Option for Patients with Schizophrenia

June 22, 2016

Presented by:
Paul Thompson, PharmD
Navos Mental Health

Sponsored by by Alkermes

This is an educational program only–no CE will be offered

Pharmacists, pharmacy technicians and pharmacy students are welcome–no personal guests please.

Wednesday, June 22, 2016
6:30pm dinner
7:00pm presentation (more…)


Wednesday, May 18, 2016

Update For Pharmacists on the Treatment of Glaucoma and Macular Degeneration

Presented by:
Casey D. Claypool, DO
Optometrist, Chief of Optometry
Empire Eye Physicians
Spokane Valley, Washington

One hour of CE credit will be provided, approved by the Washington State Board of Pharmacy and the Idaho State Board of Pharmacy.

Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Sign in and dinner, 6:30 – 7:00pm
Presentation at 7:00pm

The Links Golf Course, Meeting Room
10623 N Chase Road
Post Falls, Idaho


SPA members – No charge
Non-members – $25



April 5 and 6, 2016

Biosimilar Basics

Presented by: Bethany Withycombe, Pharm.D.
PGY-1 Pharmacy Practice Resident
Providence Sacred Heart Medical Center & Children’s Hospital
Spokane, WA

One hour of CE credit will be provided, approved by the Washington State Board of Pharmacy and the Idaho State Board of Pharmacy.

Session 1 – Dinner Session 2 – Breakfast
Tuesday, April 5, 2016 Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Sign in and dinner 6:00 – 6:30pm
Presentation at 6:45pm
Breakfast will be provided
Luigi’s Italian Restaurant
Second Floor Meeting Room245 W Main Ave
Spokane, WA 99201
Perkins Restaurant Downtown
12 E. Olive Street
Spokane, WA 99202

SPA members – No charge
Non-members – $25

Spring President’s Message

Dear SPA Members,

We are off to an awesome start for 2016! We have already had a social networking event at Liberty Ciderworks, two C.E. events (Washington State Immunization Records System review in January and the dynamic, student organized, WSU-NCPA event on “Technology Innovations in Community Pharmacies”) and a third C.E. on the Washington State Pharmacy Review Process coming up on March 22nd and 23rd.

Before we continue on with 2016, I’d like to acknowledge two outstanding SPA Board members who left the Board at the end of 2015:

  • Jason Doss, your amazing source of great education opportunities for the last few years, has turned the C.E. duties over to Brett Haney
  • Past-President Manpreet Chahal has stepped off the SPA Board, but is still representing the Spokane area on the WSPA Board
  • Chris Greer is now the SPA past-president, but continues to provide leadership in many areas, especially with the Community Pharmacy Forum, and working with the Spokane Regional Health District on their immunization and tobacco education programs.

These three people have raised the quality of all of the SPA educational and community projects to a whole new level in the last few years. (more…)

March Continuing Education

March 22, 2016 – Registration Closed

Washington State Pharmacy Inspection Review

Presented by: Eleanor Doss, Pharm.D.
Pharmacist Investigator, Eastern Washington
Pharmacy Quality Assurance Commission
Washington Department of Health

One hour of CE credit will be provided, approved by the Washington State Board of Pharmacy.
Since the content of this presentation is specific to Washington, Idaho CE will not be available for this event.

Special Notes:
Parking permits must be purchased for the event in the Nursing Building. We recommend parking in the Pay-and-Display yellow lot to the south of Spokane Falls Blvd.

For more information:

Metered parking is also available.


Session 1 – Dinner
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Sign in and dinner 6:00 – 6:30 p.m.
Presentation at 6:45pm

WSU Spokane
Student Academic Center (Library), Room 147
600 Riverpoint Blvd
Spokane, WA 99202

Session 2 – Breakfast
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
7:00 a.m.

Perkins Restaurant Downtown
12 E. Olive Street
Spokane, WA 99202


SPA members – No charge
Non-members – $25

Online Registration is now closed

February Continuing Education

February 17, 2016

NCPA Lasagna Dinner

Hosted by the WSU Chapter of the National Community Pharmacy Assoc. and the Spokane Pharmacy Association

“Technology Innovations in Community Pharmacy”

Speaker:  Jeff Harrell, PharmD,  NCPA Vice President
One hour CE credit will be provided.
Reservation required: space is limited to 85


February 17, 2016
Dinner – 6:00 p.m.
Presentation – 6:30 p.m.


Luigi’s Restaurant
245 W Main Ave.



online Registration is now closed

SPA Social and Networking Event

February 6, 2016

Spokane Pharmacy Association Social and Networking Event

“Getting your New Year’s Resolutions Back On Track and Stop Procrastinating”

Location: Liberty Ciderworks
Located at 164 S. Washington, Suite 300
(Located next to Dutch Bros Coffee downtown)
Time: Tuesday, February 9, 2016, at 7:00 p.m.
Cost: $10 includes cider samples and snacks
Limited to 18 people.
Registration is now closed

January Pharmacy Focus

Hart and Dilatush Pharmacy

Spokane, Washington

Our featured pharmacy this month is Hart and Dilatush, in Spokane.

Hart and Dilatush Pharmacy first opened in 1918 and has been located in downtown Spokane within the Bank of America Financial Center for the last 5 years.  Historically, the pharmacy was open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year, until 1969 when after 51 years of continuous operation they had to search for a key to lock the front door. (more…)